– 55th National Film Awards

the only Indian film awards worth considering.

the jury SAYS,



Best film – Kanchivaram (Tamil).

Best popular film – Chak De India (Hindi).

Best feature film on national integration – Dharm (Hindi).

Best film on family welfare – Taare Zameen Par (Hindi).

Best film on social issues – Antarwandwa (Hindi).

Best children’s film – Foto (Hindi).

Best animation film – Inimey Naangathaan (Tamil).

Best Bengali film – Ballygunge Court (director : Pinaki Chaudhari).

Best Hindi film – 1971 (dir : Amrit Sagar).

Best Kannada film – Gulabi Talkies (dir: Girish Kasaravalli).

 Best Malayalam film – Ore Kadal (dir : Shyamprasad).

Best Marathi film – Nirop (dir : Sachin Kundalkar)

Best Tamil film – Periyar (dir : Gnana Rajasekaran)

Best English film – The Last Lear (dir : Rituparno Ghosh)



Best Actor – Prakash Raj for ‘Kanchivaram’.

Best Actress – Umashree for the Kannada film ‘Gulabi Talkies’.

Best Supporting Actor – Darshan Jariwala for the Hindi film ‘Gandhi My Father’.

Best Supporting Actress – Shefali Shah for the English film ‘The Last Lear’.

Best Child Artist – Sharad Goekar for the Marathi film ‘Tingya’.



Best Director – Adoor Gopalakrishnan for the film Naalu Pennungal (Malayalam).

Best directorial debut – Shivaji Chandrabushan for the film ‘Frozen’ (Hindi).

Best Cinematography – Shankar Ramen for ‘Frozen’.

Best Screenplay – Feroz Abbas Khan for ‘Gandhi my Father’.

Best Audiography – Kunal Sharma for the Hindi film ‘1971’.

Best Editing – B. Ajith Kumar for the Malayalam film ‘Naalu Pennungal’.

Best Art Direction – Sabu Cyril for ‘Om Shanti Om’.

Best Costume Designer – Ruma Sengupta for the Bengali film ‘Krishnakanter Will’.

Best Make Up artist – Pattnam Rasheed for the Malayalam film ‘Paradesi’.

Best Music director – Ouseppachan for the Malayalam film ‘Ore Kadal’.

Best Special effects – Indian artists, Chennai for the Tamil film ‘Sivaji’.

Best Choreography given for the choreography of “yeh ishq hai” of the film ‘Jab We Met’.



Best playback singer (male) – Shankar Mahadevan for Taare Zameen Par.

Best playback singer (female) – Shreya Ghoshal for Jab We Met.

Best Lyricist – Prasoon Joshi for ‘Taare Zameen Par’.

Special Jury award to the producer of ‘Gandhi My Father’ – Anil Kapoor.

Best book on cinema – ‘From Raj to Swaraj : The Non Fiction Film in India’ by B D Garga.

Best film Critic – V K Joseph (Malayalam).

   However, we can’t deny the fact that the award ceremony of these National awards is such bore that even the hardcore movie buff wouldn’t watch it.

   Revamp the ceremony. Lets emulate the Oscars and an award night of such grandeur would satisfy the ultimate need of an award i.e. popularising the less popular movies and inducing the big stars to make better movies so that one day they can be a part of something very grand and which is widely recognised.

   Such a lot of research and hard work shoudn’t be just to say that a particular movie is good, you have to shout it out for the world to listen.


About daskino

trying to use films and lines as an outlet to my disastrous sense of expression.
This entry was posted in - Articles, - In other news. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s